

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands
Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928
Website: www.icj-cij.org Twitter Account: @CIJ ICJ YouTube Channel: CIJ ICJ
LinkedIn page: International Court of Justice (ICJ)

Press Release
Unofficial

No. 2020/30 16 October 2020

<u>Armed Activities on the Territory of the Congo</u> (Democratic Republic of the Congo v. Uganda)

Appointment of experts

THE HAGUE, 16 October 2020. The International Court of Justice (ICJ) appointed experts in the case concerning *Armed Activities on the Territory of the Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo* v. *Uganda*).

By an Order dated 8 September 2020, the Court decided to obtain an expert opinion on some heads of damage claimed by the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), namely the loss of human life, the loss of natural resources and property damage, and to appoint four independent experts for that purpose (see press release No. 2020/29 dated 22 September 2020).

By an Order dated 12 October 2020, the ICJ appointed the following four experts:

- Ms Debarati Guha-Sapir, of Belgian nationality, Professor of Public Health at the University of Louvain (Belgium), Director of the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters, Brussels (Belgium), member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine;
- Mr. Michael Nest, of Australian nationality, Environmental Governance Advisor for the European Union's Accountability, Rule of Law and Anti-corruption Programme in Ghana and former conflict minerals analyst for United States Agency for International Development and Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit projects in the Great Lakes Region of Africa;
- Mr. Geoffrey Senogles, of British nationality, Partner at Senogles & Co., Chartered Accountants, Nyon (Switzerland);
- Mr. Henrik Urdal, of Norwegian nationality, Research Professor and Director of the Peace Research Institute Oslo (Norway).

Composition of the Court

The Court was composed as follows: *President* Yusuf; *Vice-President* Xue; *Judges* Tomka, Abraham, Bennouna, Cançado Trindade, Donoghue, Gaja, Sebutinde, Bhandari, Robinson, Crawford, Gevorgian, Salam, Iwasawa; *Judge* ad hoc Daudet; *Registrar* Gautier.

The full text of the Order is available on the Court's website.

History of the proceedings

The history of the proceedings can be found in press releases Nos. 1999/34 of 23 June 1999, 2000/24 of 1 July 2000, 2005/11 of 29 April 2005, 2005/26 of 19 December 2005, 2015/18 of 9 July 2015, 2019/11 of 1 March 2019, 2019/48 of 13 November 2019 and 2020/29 of 22 September 2020, which are available on the Court's website (www.icj-cij.org).

Note: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, through judgments which have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

<u>Information Department:</u>

Mr. Andrey Poskakukhin, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department (+31 (0)70 302 2336) Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2337)

Mr. Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2394)

Ms Genoveva Madurga, Administrative Assistant (+31 (0)70 302 2396)