

## INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, 2517 KJ The Hague. Tel. (31-70-302 23 23). Cables: Intercourt, The Hague. Telefax (31-70-364 99 28). Telex 32323. Internet address: http://www.icj-cij.org

Communiqué

unofficial for immediate release

No. 2000/11 30 March 2000

## Aerial incident of 10 August 1999 (Pakistan v. India)

## Programme of the hearings due to open on Monday 3 April at 10 a.m. on the issue of the Court's jurisdiction

THE HAGUE, 30 March 2000. The programme of the public hearings which will open on Monday 3 April 2000 at 10 a.m. before the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in the case concerning the Aerial Incident of 10 August 1999 (Pakistan v. India) is the following:

First round of oral arguments

Second round of oral arguments

Monday 3 April: Pakistan

Wednesday 5 April:

Pakistan

Tuesday 4 April: India

Thursday 6 April:

India

The hearings will be held between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. As announced in Press Communiqué No. 2000/6 of 24 February 2000, they will be dedicated exclusively to the issue of the Court's jurisdiction to deal with the dispute.

The delegation of Pakistan will be led by Mr. Amir A. Shadani, Chargé d'affaires ad interim of the Embassy of Pakistan in the Netherlands, Acting Agent, and the delegation of India by H.E. Mr. Prabhakar Menon, Ambassador of India to the Netherlands, Agent.

At the opening of the hearings on Monday 3 April 2000, two new Members of the Court, Judges Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan) and Thomas Buergenthal (United States of America), will make the solemn declaration provided for in Article 20 of the Statute of the Court.

Judge Al-Khasawneh was elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations on 3 November 1999 for a nine-year term starting on 6 February 2000 (see Press Communiqué No. 99/47). Judge Buergenthal was elected on 2 March 2000 to succeed Judge Stephen M. Schwebel, following the latter's resignation; he will hold office for the remainder of Judge Schwebel's term, which will expire on 5 February 2006 (see Press Communiqué No. 2000/8).

In the above-mentioned case, since the Court did not include upon the Bench any judge of the nationality of the Parties, the latter stated that they wished to choose ad hoc judges. Pakistan has chosen Mr. Syed Sharif Uddin Pirzada to sit as judge ad hoc while India has chosen Mr. B. P. Jeevan Reddy.

The two ad hoc judges will also make the solemn declaration provided for in Article 20 of the Statute of the Court at the start of the sitting.

Website of the Court: http://www.icj-cij.org

Information Department:

Mr. Arthur Witteveen, First Secretary (+ 31 70 302 23 36) Mrs. Laurence Blairon, Information Officer (+ 31 70 302 23 37)

E-mail address: information@ici-cij.org