

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, 2517 KJ The Hague. Tel: +31 (0)70 302 23 23. Cables: Intercourt, The Hague. Fax: +31 (0)70 364 99 28. Telex: 32323. E-mail address: mail@icj-cij.org. Internet address: http://www.icj-cij.org.

• Press Release

No. 2002/41 20 December 2002

<u>Frontier Dispute</u> (Benin/Niger)

The Court forms a special Chamber to deal with the case

THE HAGUE, 20 December 2002. The International Court of Justice (ICJ), by an Order of 27 November 2002, unanimously decided to accede to the request of both Parties that it should form a special Chamber of five judges to deal with the case concerning the <u>Frontier Dispute</u> (Benin/Niger).

The Court, after its President had been informed of the views of the Parties on the composition of the Chamber and had reported to it, formed a Chamber of three Members of the Court together with two <u>ad hoc</u> judges chosen by the Parties. The composition of the Chamber is as follows:

President G. Guillaume Judges R. Ranjeva P. H. Kooijmans Judges <u>ad hoc</u> M. Bedjaoui (chosen by Niger) M. Bennouna (chosen by Benin)

In its Order the Court further fixed 27 August 2003 as the time-limit for the filing of a Memorial by each Party.

*

The subsequent procedure has been reserved for further decision.

Judge Oda has appended a declaration to the Order.

Information Office: Mr. Arthur Witteveen, First Secretary of the Court (tel: +31 70 302 2336) Mrs. Laurence Blairon and Mr. Boris Heim, Information Officers (tel: +31 70 302 2337) E-mail address: information@icj-cij.org