## INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

**YEAR 2005** 

**16 February 2005** 

2005 16 February General List No. 125

## CASE CONCERNING THE FRONTIER DISPUTE

(BENIN/NIGER)

## **ORDER**

## COMPOSITION OF CHAMBER

Present: President Shi; Vice-President Ranjeva; Judges Koroma, Vereshchetin, Higgins, Parra-Aranguren, Kooijmans, Rezek, Al-Khasawneh, Buergenthal, Elaraby, Owada, Simma, Abraham; Registrar Couvreur.

The International Court of Justice,

Composed as above,

After deliberation,

Having regard to Article 26, paragraphs 2 and 3, of the Statute of the Court, and to Articles 17, 18 and 31 of the Rules of Court,

Having regard to the Order of 27 November 2002 whereby the Court, *inter alia*, declared a Chamber to deal with the present case to have been duly constituted with the following composition: Judge Guillaume, President of the Chamber; Judges Ranjeva and Kooijmans; and Judges *ad hoc* Bedjaoui and Bennouna;

Whereas Judge Guillaume, President of the Chamber, resigned from the Court with effect from 11 February 2005; and whereas, accordingly, a vacancy occurred on the Chamber;

Whereas the Parties have been further consulted with regard to the

composition of the Chamber in accordance with Article 17, paragraph 2, of the Rules of Court,

*Declares* that, at an election held on 16 February 2005, Judge Abraham was elected a member of the Chamber to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Judge Guillaume and that as a result of this election the Chamber is composed as follows:

President Ranjeva; Judges Kooijmans, Abraham; Judges *ad hoc* Bedjaoui, Bennouna.

Done in French and in English, the French text being authoritative, at the Peace Palace, The Hague, this sixteenth day of February, two thousand and five, in three copies, one of which will be placed in the archives of the Court and the others transmitted to the Government of the Republic of Benin and the Government of the Republic of Niger, respectively.

(Signed) Shi Jiuyong,
President.

(Signed) Philippe Couvreur,
Registrar.