## INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

2006 30 June General List No. 132 YEAR 2006

30 June 2006

## CASE CONCERNING MARITIME DELIMITATION IN THE BLACK SEA

(ROMANIA v. UKRAINE)

## **ORDER**

Present: President Higgins; Vice-President Al-Khasawneh; Judges Shi, Parra-Aranguren, Buergenthal, Owada, Tomka, Abraham, Skotnikov; Registrar Couvreur.

The International Court of Justice,

Composed as above,

Having regard to Article 48 of the Statute of the Court and to Articles 31, 44, 45, paragraph 2, 48 and 49 of the Rules of Court,

Having regard to the Order of 19 November 2004, by which the Court fixed 19 August 2005 and 19 May 2006 as the time-limits for the filing, respectively, of the Memorial of Romania and the Counter-Memorial of Ukraine.

Having regard to the Memorial and the Counter-Memorial duly filed by the Parties within those time-limits;

Whereas, at a meeting held by the President of the Court with the representatives of the Parties on 28 June 2006, the Parties agreed to request the Court to authorize the filing of a Reply by the Applicant and a Rejoinder by the Respondent; and whereas Romania proposed that each of the Parties should be allowed a maximum period of five months for

the preparation of its pleading, and Ukraine requested that the Parties each be given a minimum period of six months for that purpose;

Taking into account the views of the Parties and the circumstances of the case,

*Authorizes* the submission of a Reply by Romania and a Rejoinder by Ukraine;

Fixes the following time-limits for the filing of those pleadings:

22 December 2006 for the Reply of Romania;

15 June 2007 for the Rejoinder of Ukraine; and

Reserves the subsequent procedure for further decision.

Done in English and in French, the English text being authoritative, at the Peace Palace, The Hague, this thirtieth day of June, two thousand and six, in three copies, one of which will be placed in the archives of the Court and the others transmitted to the Government of Romania and the Government of Ukraine, respectively.

(Signed) Rosalyn Higgins, President. (Signed) Philippe Couvreur, Registrar.