

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website: www.icj-cij.org

Press Release

No. 2015/14 2 June 2015

Obligations concerning Negotiations relating to Cessation of the Nuclear Arms Race and to Nuclear Disarmament (Marshall Islands v. India)

Extension of the time-limit for the filing of India's Counter-Memorial

THE HAGUE, 2 June 2015. The International Court of Justice (ICJ), the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, by an Order dated 19 May 2015, has extended from 16 June 2015 to 16 September 2015 the time-limit for the filing of the Counter-Memorial of the Republic of India on the question of the jurisdiction of the Court in the case of Obligations concerning Negotiations relating to Cessation of the Nuclear Arms Race and to Nuclear Disarmament (Marshall Islands v. India).

The subsequent procedure has been reserved for further decision.

The decision to extend the time-limit was made taking account of the views of the Parties.

In its Order, the Court indicates that, by a letter dated 5 May 2015, India requested a three-month extension, beyond 16 June 2015, of the time-limit for the filing of its Counter-Memorial on the question of jurisdiction.

The Court likewise indicates that, by a letter dated 8 May 2015, the Republic of the Marshall Islands informed it that it had no objection to the granting of India's request.

History of the proceedings

The history of the proceedings may be found in the Annual Report of the Court for 2013-2014 (paras. 209-213), available on the Court's website (www.icj-cij.org) under "The Court/Annual Reports/2013-2014". The full text of the Order made on 19 May 2015 is also available on the Court's website, under "Cases/Contentious Cases".

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York. The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by

States (its judgments have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned); and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. Independent of the United Nations Secretariat, it is assisted by a Registry, its own international secretariat, whose activities are both judicial and diplomatic, as well as administrative. The official languages of the Court are French and English. Also known as the "World Court", it is the only court of a universal character with general jurisdiction.

The ICJ, a court open only to States for contentious proceedings, and to certain organs and institutions of the United Nations system for advisory proceedings, should not be confused with the other — mostly criminal — judicial institutions based in The Hague and adjacent areas, such as the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY, an <u>ad hoc</u> court created by the Security Council), the International Criminal Court (ICC, the first permanent international criminal court, established by treaty, which does not belong to the United Nations system), the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL, an independent judicial body composed of Lebanese and international judges, which is not a United Nations tribunal and does not form part of the Lebanese judicial system), or the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA, an independent institution which assists in the establishment of arbitral tribunals and facilitates their work, in accordance with the Hague Convention of 1899).

Information Department:

Mr. Andrey Poskakukhin, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department (+31 (0)70 302 2336)

Mr. Boris Heim, Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2337)

Ms Joanne Moore, Associate Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2394)

Ms Genoveva Madurga, Administrative Assistant (+31 (0)70 302 2396)