

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website: <u>www.icj-cij.org</u> Twitter Account: <u>@CIJ_ICJ</u> YouTube Channel: <u>CIJ ICJ</u>

Press Release

Unofficial

No. 2018/12 12 February 2018

Maritime Delimitation in the Indian Ocean (Somalia v. Kenya)

<u>The Court authorizes the submission of a Reply by Somalia and a Rejoinder by Kenya</u> and fixes the time-limits for the filing of these written pleadings

THE HAGUE, 12 February 2018. The International Court of Justice (ICJ), the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, has authorized the submission of a Reply by the Federal Republic of Somalia and of a Rejoinder by the Republic of Kenya in the case concerning <u>Maritime</u> <u>Delimitation in the Indian Ocean (Somalia v. Kenya)</u>.

By an Order dated 2 February 2018, the Court fixed 18 June 2018 and 18 December 2018 as the respective time-limits for the filing of these written pleadings.

The Court issued this decision taking into account the views of the Parties and the circumstances of the case.

The subsequent procedure has been reserved for further decision.

History of the proceedings

The history of the proceedings can be found in paragraphs 187-201 of the Court's Annual Report for 2016-2017, available on its website (under the headings "The Court"/"Annual Reports").

Note: The Court's press releases do not constitute official documents.

<u>The International Court of Justice (ICJ)</u> is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York. The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (its judgments have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned); and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. Independent of the United Nations Secretariat, it is assisted by a Registry, its own international secretariat, whose activities are both judicial and diplomatic, as well as administrative. The official languages of the Court are French and English. Also known as the "World Court", it is the only court of a universal character with general jurisdiction.

The ICJ, a court open only to States for contentious proceedings, and to certain organs and institutions of the United Nations system for advisory proceedings, should not be confused with the other — mostly criminal — judicial institutions based in The Hague and adjacent areas, such as the International Criminal Court (ICC, the only permanent international criminal court, which was established by treaty and does not belong to the United Nations system), the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL, an international judicial body with an independent legal personality, established by the United Nations Security Council upon the request of the Lebanese Government and composed of Lebanese and international judges), the Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT, mandated to take over residual functions from the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and from the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda), the Kosovo Specialist Chambers and Specialist Prosecutor's Office (an ad hoc judicial institution which has its seat in The Hague), or the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA, an independent institution which assists in the establishment of arbitral tribunals and facilitates their work, in accordance with the Hague Convention of 1899).

Information Department:

Mr. Andrey Poskakukhin, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department (+31 (0)70 302 2336) Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2337) Mr. Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2394) Ms Genoveva Madurga, Administrative Assistant (+31 (0)70 302 2396)