

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website: <u>www.icj-cij.org</u> Twitter Account: @CIJ_ICJ

Press Release

Unofficial

No. 2017/24 14 June 2017

<u>Application of the International Convention for the Suppression of the Financing of</u> <u>Terrorism and of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of</u> <u>Racial Discrimination (Ukraine v. Russian Federation)</u>

Fixing of time-limits for the filing of the initial pleadings

THE HAGUE, 14 June 2017. The President of the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, has fixed time-limits for the filing of the initial pleadings in the case concerning <u>Application of the International Convention for the Suppression of the Financing of Terrorism and of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (Ukraine v. Russian Federation).</u>

By an Order dated 12 May 2017, the President fixed 12 June 2018 and 12 July 2019 as the respective time-limits for the filing of a Memorial by Ukraine and a Counter-Memorial by the Russian Federation.

The President made the Order taking into account the views of the Parties. The subsequent procedure has been reserved for further decision.

History of the proceedings

The history of the proceedings can be found in Press Releases Nos. 2017/2 of 17 January 2017, 2017/4 of 1 February 2017, 2017/11 of 9 March 2017 and 2017/15 of 19 April 2017, available on the Court's website (www.icj-cij.org) under the heading "Press Room"/"Press Releases".

The full text of the Order is available on the Court's website (<u>www.icj-cij.org</u>) under the heading "Cases".

Note: The Court's press releases do not constitute official documents.

<u>The International Court of Justice (ICJ)</u> is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York. The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (its judgments have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned); and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. Independent of the United Nations Secretariat, it is assisted by a Registry, its own international languages of the Court are French and English. Also known as the "World Court", it is the only court of a universal character with general jurisdiction.

The ICJ, a court open only to States for contentious proceedings, and to certain organs and institutions of the United Nations system for advisory proceedings, should not be confused with the other — mostly criminal — judicial institutions based in The Hague and adjacent areas, such as the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY, an <u>ad hoc</u> court created by the Security Council), the International Criminal Court (ICC, the first permanent international criminal court, established by treaty, which does not belong to the United Nations system), the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL, an international judicial body with an independent legal personality, established by the United Nations Security Council upon the request of the Lebanese Government and composed of Lebanese and international judges), or the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA, an independent institution which assists in the establishment of arbitral tribunals and facilitates their work, in accordance with the Hague Convention of 1899).

Information Department:

Mr. Andrey Poskakukhin, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department (+31 (0)70 302 2336) Mr. Boris Heim and Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officers (+31 (0)70 302 2337) Mr. Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2394) Ms Genoveva Madurga, Administrative Assistant (+31 (0)70 302 2396)