

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website X YouTube LinkedIn

Press Release

Unofficial

No. 2024/76 2 December 2024

Obligations of States in respect of Climate Change

(Request for Advisory Opinion)

Revised schedule for the public hearings

THE HAGUE, 2 December 2024. The schedule for the public hearings on the request for an advisory opinion on the *Obligations of States in respect of Climate Change* has been revised.

The revised schedule is as follows:

Monday 2 December 2024	10 a.m10.15 a.m.	Opening of the oral proceedings
	10.15 a.m11.15 a.m.	Vanuatu and Melanesian Spearhead Group
	11.15 a.m11.30 a.m.	Break
	11.30 a.m12 noon	South Africa
	12 noon-12.30 p.m.	Albania
	12.30 p.m1 p.m.	Germany
	*	**
	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Antigua and Barbuda
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Saudi Arabia
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Australia
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	Bahamas
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Bangladesh
	5.45 p.m6.15 p.m.	Barbados
Tuesday 3 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Belize
·	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Bolivia
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Brazil
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Burkina Faso
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Cameroon
	12.45 p.m1.15 p.m.	Philippines
	*	**

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Canada
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Chile
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	China
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	Colombia
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Commonwealth of Dominica
	5.45 p.m6.15 p.m.	Korea (Republic of)
		,
Wednesday 4 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Costa Rica
•	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Côte d'Ivoire
	11 a.m11.45 a.m.	Denmark, Finland, Iceland,
		Norway and Sweden (jointly)
	11.45 a.m12 noon	Break
	12 noon-12.30 p.m.	Egypt
	12.30 p.m1 p.m.	El Salvador
	*	***
	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	United Arab Emirates
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Ecuador
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Spain
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	United States
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Russian Federation
	5.45 p.m6.15 p.m.	Fiji
Thursday 5 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	France
Thursday 5 December 2024	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Sierra Leone
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Ghana
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Break
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Grenada
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Guatemala

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Cook Islands
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Marshall Islands
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Solomon Islands
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	India
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
	5.45 p.m6.15 p.m.	Indonesia
Friday 6 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Jamaica
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Papua New Guinea
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Kenya
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Kiribati
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Kuwait

	5		
	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Latvia	
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Liechtenstein	
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Malawi	
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break	
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	Maldives	
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	African Union	
	1		
Monday 9 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Mexico	
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Micronesia (Federated States of)	
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Myanmar	
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break	
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Namibia	
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Japan	

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Nauru	
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Nepal	
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	New Zealand	
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break	
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	Palestine (State of)	
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Pakistan	
Tuesday 10 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Palau	
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Panama	
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Netherlands	
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break	
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Peru	
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Democratic Republic of the	
		Congo	
		**	
	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Portugal	
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Dominican Republic	
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Romania	
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break	
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	United Kingdom	
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Saint Lucia	
W 1 1 11 D 1 2024	10 10 20		
Wednesday 11 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Samoa	
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Senegal	
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break	
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Seychelles	
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	The Gambia	

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Singapore	
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Slovenia	
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Sudan	

	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m. 4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	<i>Break</i> Sri Lanka
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Switzerland
	5.45 p.m6.15 p.m.	Serbia
Thursday 12 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Syria
Thursday 12 December 2024	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Thailand
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Timor-Leste
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Tonga
	12.15 p.m12.45 p.m.	Tuvalu
	12.45 p.m1.15 p.m.	Comoros (Union of)

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	Uruguay
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	Viet Nam
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	Zambia
	4.30 p.m4.45 p.m.	Break
	4.45 p.m5.15 p.m.	Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency
	5.15 p.m5.45 p.m.	Alliance of Small Island States
Friday 13 December 2024	10 a.m10.30 a.m.	Commission of Small Island States on Climate Change and International Law
	10.30 a.m11 a.m.	Pacific Community
	11 a.m11.30 a.m.	Pacific Islands Forum
	11.30 a.m11.45 a.m.	Break
	11.45 a.m12.15 p.m.	Organisation of African,
		Caribbean and Pacific States

	3 p.m3.30 p.m.	World Health Organization
	3.30 p.m4 p.m.	European Union
	4 p.m4.30 p.m.	International Union for Conservation of Nature
		Conscivation of Ivaluic

Note: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

<u>Information Department:</u>

Ms Monique Legerman, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department: +31 (0)70 302 2336

Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2337

Ms Anna Bonini, Associate Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2419

Email: info@icj-cij.org