



INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, 2517 KJ The Hague. Tel. 92 44 41. Cables: Intercourt, The Hague

Telex 32323

Communiqué

unofficial for immediate release

10-4.25 Judges + Morr

No. 85/6 10 April 1985

The Court forms a Chamber to deal with the case submitted by Burkina Faso and Mali

The following information is made available to the Press by the Registry of the International Court of Justice:

Burkina Faso (formerly Upper Volta) and Mali have submitted to a specially formed chamber of the International Court of Justice a dispute concerning the delimitation of a part of the land frontier between the two States.

Details of the process by which the Chamber has been created are given below.

*

On 20 October 1983 the Government of Upper Volta (renamed Burkina Faso in August 1984) and the Government of Mali had notified to the Registry a Special Agreement, concluded between them on 16 September 1983, and having entered into force on the same date, by which they had agreed to submit to a chamber of the Court a dispute concerning the delimitation of their common frontier.

The Special Agreement provided that this chamber was to be formed pursuant to Article 26, paragraph 2, of the Statute of the Court. This Article provides that the Court may form a chamber for dealing with a particular case. The Parties, duly consulted by the President, indicated on 14 March 1985 that they desired the formation of a chamber of five members, of whom two would be judges <u>ad hoc</u> chosen by themselves in accordance with Article 31 of the Statute. This Article provides for the right of a Party, when there is no judge of its nationality upon the bench, to choose a judge <u>ad hoc</u> to sit in the case.

Poloffia Paulaia. 10-485 (1500/ Priming colled.

Following...

Following a decision to accede to the request of the two Governments, on 3 April 1985 the Court adopted by a unanimous vote of Members present an Order whereby it constituted a Chamber which will be seised with the case, and which will be composed as follows:

Judges Lachs, Ruda and Bedjaoui; Judges ad hoc Luchaire and Abi-Saab.

It will be for the Chamber so formed to elect its own President.