

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 <u>Website Twitter YouTube LinkedIn</u>

Press Release

No. 2021/8 12 February 2021

<u>The judges of the International Court of Justice elect the members of the Chamber</u> of Summary Procedure, the Budgetary and Administrative Committee, the Rules Committee and the Library Committee of the Court

THE HAGUE, 12 February 2021. Today the judges of the International Court of Justice elected the members of the Chamber of Summary Procedure, the Budgetary and Administrative Committee, the Rules Committee and the Library Committee of the Court.

Chamber of Summary Procedure

Article 29 of the Court's Statute provides that, with a view to the speedy dispatch of business, the Court shall form annually a chamber composed of five judges which, at the request of the parties, may hear and determine cases by summary procedure. The Court also selects two judges for this chamber for the purpose of replacing judges who find it impossible to sit.

Under the Rules of Court, the President and Vice-President are members of this chamber ex officio; the other members and the substitutes are elected.

The composition of the Chamber of Summary Procedure is now the following:

Members:	President Vice-President Judges	Joan E. Donoghue Kirill Gevorgian Ronny Abraham Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade Julia Sebutinde
Substitute members:	Judges	Patrick Lipton Robinson James Richard Crawford

Committees of the Court

The following committees of the Court are now composed as below:

— Budgetary and Administrative Committee:

Members:	President Vice-President Judges	Joan E. Donoghue Kirill Gevorgian Peter Tomka Ronny Abraham Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf Xue Hanqin Julia Sebutinde
— Rules Committee:		
Members:	Judges	Peter Tomka Dalveer Bhandari Patrick Lipton Robinson James Richard Crawford Iwasawa Yuji Georg Nolte
— Library Committee:		
Members:	Judges	Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade Dalveer Bhandari Nawaf Salam Iwasawa Yuji Georg Nolte

Note: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, through judgments which have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

Information Department:

Mr. Andrey Poskakukhin, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department (+31 (0)70 302 2336) Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2337) Mr. Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer (+31 (0)70 302 2394) Ms Genoveva Madurga, Administrative Assistant (+31 (0)70 302 2396)