

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website X YouTube LinkedIn

Press Release
Unofficial

No. 2024/9 1 February 2024

Swearing-in of Their Excellencies Mr Bogdan-Lucian Aurescu, Ms Sarah Hull Cleveland, Mr Juan Manuel Gómez Robledo Verduzco and Mr Dire Tladi, new Members of the Court

Tuesday 6 February 2024 at 10 a.m.

THE HAGUE, 1 February 2024. The International Court of Justice will hold a public sitting on Tuesday 6 February 2024 at 10 a.m., during which Their Excellencies Mr Bogdan-Lucian Aurescu (Romania), Ms Sarah Hull Cleveland (United States of America), Mr Juan Manuel Gómez Robledo Verduzco (Mexico) and Mr Dire Tladi (South Africa), new Members of the Court, elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations on 9 November 2023, will be officially sworn in.

During the sitting, they will each make the solemn declaration provided for in Article 20 of the Statute of the Court, which stipulates that Members shall, before taking up their duties, make a solemn declaration in open court that they will exercise their powers impartially and conscientiously.

T	'he new Members' nine-year terms of office will begin the same day.
	The biographical details of the four new Members of the Court will be made available on the website in due course.

Members of the public and the media will find below practical information regarding the organization of the sitting.

A. Practical information and admission procedures

There will be no parking on the Peace Palace grounds.

1. Members of the public

Only 15 seats in the public gallery will be available for members of the public; they will be allocated on a first-come first-served basis. There will be no advance registration procedure, and admission requests submitted beforehand will not be considered. Members of the public wishing to attend the sitting are requested to present themselves at the main gate of the Peace Palace no later than 40 minutes before the start of the sitting. They will be given a badge providing access to the public gallery upon presentation of valid ID.

2. Media representatives

Media representatives who wish to attend the sitting are requested to kindly fill out an <u>online accreditation form</u> by midnight (The Hague time) on Sunday 4 February 2024. Requests submitted after this deadline will not be considered.

B. Further practical information for the media

1. Entry to the Peace Palace

Only duly accredited individuals with valid identification will be permitted to enter the Peace Palace grounds. Accredited media representatives must bring with them their personal ID and press card. They are asked to arrive at the Peace Palace gates no later than 30 minutes before the start of the sitting. The Press Room will be open one and a half hours before the start of the sitting and will close one hour after it concludes.

2. Access to the courtroom

A limited number of professional photographers and camera operators will be permitted to enter the courtroom for a few minutes at the start of the sitting. They will be accompanied by members of the Information Department. Other media representatives will not have access to the courtroom.

3. Press Room

The sitting will be transmitted live on a large screen in the two official languages of the Court, English and French, in a press room equipped with shared internet access (Wi-Fi and Ethernet). TV crews can connect to the Court's PAL (HD and SD) and NTSC (SD) audiovisual system, and radio reporters to the audio system.

4. Multimedia

The sitting will be streamed live and on demand (VOD) in English and French, on the <u>Court's website</u> and on <u>UN Web TV</u>. High-resolution video clips and still photos produced by the Registry during the sitting will be available free of charge and free of copyright for editorial, non-commercial use, on the Court's website (to download, click on <u>Multimedia</u>) and its X (formerly Twitter) feed (@CIJ ICJ).

Note: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

<u>Information Department:</u>

Ms Monique Legerman, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department: +31 (0)70 302 2336

Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2337

Mr Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2394

Email: info@icj-cij.org