

# INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website X YouTube LinkedIn

Press Release
Unofficial

No. 2024/13 7 February 2024

# New composition of the International Court of Justice, its Chamber of Summary Procedure, its Budgetary and Administrative Committee, its Rules Committee and its Library Committee

THE HAGUE, 7 February 2024. Following the elections held on 9 November 2023 by the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council to fill the five seats which were due to fall vacant on 6 February 2024 (see press release No. 2023/63), and the election of a new President and Vice-President of the Court on 6 February 2024 (see press releases No. 2024/11 and No. 2024/12), the composition of the Court is as follows (by order of seniority):

President Nawaf Salam (Lebanon) Vice-President Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) Judges Peter Tomka (Slovakia)

Ronny Abraham (France)

Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia)

Xue Hanqin (China) Dalveer Bhandari (India) Iwasawa Yuji (Japan) Georg Nolte (Germany)

Hilary Charlesworth (Australia)

Leonardo Nemer Caldeira Brant (Brazil) Juan Manuel Gómez Robledo (Mexico)

Sarah Hull Cleveland (United States of America)

Bogdan-Lucian Aurescu (Romania)

Dire Tladi (South Africa)

On 6 February 2024, the judges of the Court elected the members of the Chamber of Summary Procedure, the Budgetary and Administrative Committee, the Rules Committee and the Library Committee of the Court.

#### **Chamber of Summary Procedure**

Article 29 of the Court's Statute provides that, with a view to the speedy dispatch of business, the Court shall form annually a Chamber composed of five judges which, at the request of the parties, may hear and determine cases by summary procedure. The Court also selects two judges for this Chamber to replace any judges who are unable to sit.

Under the Rules of Court, the President and Vice-President are members of this Chamber ex officio, the other members and the substitutes being elected.

As of 6 February 2024, the composition of the Chamber of Summary Procedure is the following:

Members: President Nawaf Salam

Vice-President Julia Sebutinde Judges Ronny Abraham Georg Nolte

Leonardo Nemer Caldeira Brant

Substitute members: Judges Hilary Charlesworth

Dire Tladi

## **Committees of the Court**

As of 6 February 2024, the committees of the Court are composed as follows:

— Budgetary and Administrative Committee:

Members: President Nawaf Salam

Vice-President Julia Sebutinde Judges Peter Tomka Ronny Abraham

Xue Hanqin Iwasawa Yuji Georg Nolte

— Rules Committee:

Members: Judges Peter Tomka

Hilary Charlesworth

Juan Manuel Gómez Robledo

Sarah Hull Cleveland Bogdan-Lucian Aurescu

Dire Tladi

— Library Committee:

Members: Judges Dalveer Bhandari

Iwasawa Yuji Georg Nolte

Hilary Charlesworth

Leonardo Nemer Caldeira Brant

Dire Tladi

*Note*: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

\_\_\_\_\_

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

\_\_\_\_\_

## <u>Information Department:</u>

Ms Monique Legerman, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department: +31 (0)70 302 2336 Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2337

Mr Avo Sevag Garabet, Associate Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2394

Email: info@icj-cij.org