

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

Peace Palace, Carnegieplein 2, 2517 KJ The Hague, Netherlands Tel.: +31 (0)70 302 2323 Fax: +31 (0)70 364 9928 Website X YouTube LinkedIn

Press Release
Unofficial

No. 2025/3 14 January 2025

<u>Judge Nawaf Salam, President of the Court, resigns as Member of the Court</u> <u>with effect from 14 January 2025</u>

THE HAGUE, 14 January 2025. Judge Nawaf Salam, President of the International Court of Justice, has resigned as Member of the Court with effect from today, 14 January 2025.

His term as Member and President of the Court was due to expire on 5 February 2027.

In accordance with Article 14 of the <u>Statute of the Court</u>, it will be for the Security Council to fix the date for the election of his successor by the General Assembly and the Security Council. As provided for by Article 15 of the Statute, the judge then elected will complete Judge Salam's term as Member of the Court.

Judge Salam became a Member of the Court on 6 February 2018 and its President on 6 February 2024. Before joining the Court, Judge Salam was Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Lebanon to the United Nations in New York, a position he held from July 2007 to December 2017.

Note: The Court's press releases are prepared by its Registry for information purposes only and do not constitute official documents.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States; and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system.

<u>Information Department:</u>

Ms Monique Legerman, First Secretary of the Court, Head of Department: +31 (0)70 302 2336 Ms Joanne Moore, Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2337

Ms Anna Bonini, Associate Information Officer: +31 (0)70 302 2419

Email: info@icj-cij.org